ROC updates list of Greek dioceses under bishops supporting schismatics, to be avoided by faithful

Moscow, November 10, 2022

Photo: Photo:     

The Russian Orthodox Church published on Tuesday an updated list of dioceses of the Greek Orthodox Church that its faithful aren’t blessed to visit on pilgrimage because their respective hierarchs openly support and/or serve with the schismatics of the “Orthodox Church of Ukraine.”

At the Greek Bishops’ Council in October 2019, the hierarchs voted to recognize Constantinople’s right to grant autocephaly in Ukraine and to entrust the matter of whether to recognize the schismatic “Orthodox Church of Ukraine” to Archbishop Ieronymos of Athens. On October 21, Abp. Ieronymos sent an irenic letter to Epiphany Dumenko, officially recognizing the OCU and his position as primate of the structure.

The Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church then announced that it would maintain communion with those hierarchs of the Greek Church who maintain an Orthodox stance regarding the Ukrainian crisis and who continue to stand for the truth. Further:

In this regard, we cease prayerful and Eucharistic communication with those bishops of the Greek Church who have entered or will enter into such communication with representatives of the Ukrainian non-canonical schismatic communities. We also do not bless pilgrimages in dioceses managed by the aforesaid bishops. The relevant information will be widely distributed among the pilgrimage and tourist organizations of the countries that make up the canonical territory of our Church.

The initial list included six dioceses that the faithful of the Moscow Patriarchate are not blessed to visit as pilgrims. The updated list includes 19 Greek hierarchs who have served with the schismatics:

  1. Archbishop Ieronymos of Athens

  2. Metropolitan Panteleimon of Veria

  3. Metropolitan Kallinikos of Arta

  4. Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Trikala

  5. Metropolitan Ignatios of Demetrias

  6. Metropolitan Theoktistos of Fokida

  7. Metropolitan Dionysios of Zakynthos

  8. Metropolitan Georgios of Kitros

  9. Metropolitan Panteleimon of Xanthi

  10. Metropolitan Joel of Edessa

  11. Metropolitan David of Greneva

  12. Metropolitan Panteleimon of Maroneia

  13. Metropolitan Stephanos of Philippi

  14. Metropolitan Damaskinos of Didymoteicho

  15. Metropolitan Kallinikos of Kastoria

  16. Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Eleftheroupoli

  17. Metropolitan Timotheos of Thessaly

  18. Metropolitan Theoklitos of Stagoi

  19. Metropolitan Ioustinos of Nea Krini

Follow OrthoChristian on Twitter, Vkontakte, Telegram, WhatsApp, MeWe, and Gab!


Here you can leave your comment on the present article, not exceeding 4000 characters. All comments will be read by the editors of OrthoChristian.Com.
Enter through FaceBook
Your name:
Your e-mail:
Enter the digits, seen on picture:

Characters remaining: 4000

to our mailing list

* indicates required